When Dimple met Rishi by Sandhya Menon | Book Review

I’ve had a bit of a reading slump for the past two or three months and so to get myself back on the reading bandwagon I went on to BookTube. This book by an Indian author caught my eye, especially since so many of my trusted booktubers highly recommended it. However, I have a bad relationship with Indian Authors since I don’t tend to read in the genres that are popular here, which is Romance Fiction.  But, I still picked up this book because it promised to be an easy and fun read that could get me back to reading again.

Dimple is a computer and web design geek who is all set to go to Stanford University. Before going to college, however, she plans to get some experience in App Designing by attending a 6 weeks workshop in San Fransisco. Her parents, however, have other ideas on sending her to this workshop. Without her knowledge, they have set her up to meet one of their friend’s son, Rishi. Rishi is very traditional in his ways and he’s actually pretty excited the possibility of an arranged marriage.

Here are my thoughts on the story.

 

When Dimple Met RishiWhen Dimple Met Rishi by Sandhya Menon

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

I thoroughly enjoyed myself whilst reading this book. Dimple and Rishi are such carefully developed characters that I couldn’t help but root for them. I loved that this was more than the clichéd ‘opposites attract’ story. Even though at the onset it feels like they are as different as two people can possibly be, as their relationship develops, it is their similarities that ultimately keeps them together. I also loved that the author did not stereotype the main characters. Dimple’s mom was a tad stereotypical but let’s face it, a lot of Indian moms are like her.

Despite really liking the story, I did find a few things that irked me a bit. Firstly, some of the dialogues, especially the ones with the parents, came off as stilted and unrealistic. Secondly, there were instances when I felt like Rishi was acting way too older than his age. Nevertheless, this book is a great way to spend a couple of hours. Just relax, have some chai and enjoy yourself.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

