Creativity, Motivation and Over Expectations |Camp NaNoWriMo Weeks 1 & 2

I have a phone full of ideas that I’ve collected over the past five years. On my desk, there are stacks of notebooks with pages of half-baked ideas right this moment. I even have a few drafts of unpublished blog posts here on this blog. Still, I feel like I lack inspiration. Like I’m not a very creative person. I can’t write things off the top of my head. I’d have to mull over them forever just to write a short 100-words story. Even then, I’d spend ages structuring my sentences in frustration because I can’t get them to say what I mean. I’ve never been able to reach my goal for during any NaNoWriMo either. There was always some excuse to give up.

Last November, I had grand plans to write a novel, but I’d decided to join the event on October 28th. Being overexcited just from taking the plunge, I grabbed the first idea I had. I started writing it with less than a page of an outline (which wasn’t very good either). But all my good intentions jumped out the window after I’d written the first 2000 words. My story was the most boring piece of writing I’ve ever read (and that’s saying something); because I didn’t know how to write.

If I was the protagonist in a story, then I’d learn from my mistakes. Later, I’d come back to kick some ass during April. But no, just like my novel, I had no character development either. I did the same exact thing, only, I didn’t get past 1000 words this time.

Camp NaNoWriMo this July has been a blessing. My goal this time is to write. Just write. No word count goals, no strict outline to follow. I told myself, I’d work on the outline of my novel for one hour, daily; that’s it. Today, I have a 4000 words document full of notes and the first act completely outlined and ready to be written. It may not sound like much, but hey, it’s better to have my basic plot figured out rather than dull dialogue and pages of description of an empty field.

So, that’s been my Camp so far, how is yours?

3 thoughts on “Creativity, Motivation and Over Expectations |Camp NaNoWriMo Weeks 1 & 2

  1. Congratulations! The important thing is that you’re writing and constantly moving forward with your novels.
    Personally, I spend way too long planning and telling myself that I’m not ready to start writing yet. Doing Camp NaNoWriMo this year has definitely reminded me how important the actual act of writing is to developing a story further.

    Like

Leave a Reply

