Artful by Peter David | Book Review

ArtfulArtful by Peter David

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

Artful is a graphic-novel adaptation by Nicole D’Andria of a book by the same name by Peter David. Laura Neubert has done the artwork for the book. The story follows ‘The Artful Dodger’; also known as Jack Dawkins, from Oliver Twist by Charles Dickens. Apart from him, many characters from the classic appear in this book too, such as Fagin, Charley Bates, and Oliver himself. The story starts in London in the year 1830; a few years after Oliver goes to live with Mr. Brownlow. Vampires are trying to take over the city, and for reasons, it’s upto the Dodger to save the kingdom. I have to say, though there are many characters are from the world of Dickens in this story, I didn’t feel like it spoiled anything for those who haven’t read the classic yet.

Now, let’s get into the review. I thought that the artwork was stunning. It perfectly compliments the story and the time-period. However, the story itself was predictable. It was interesting, and held my attention for as long as I read, but at no point did I felt surprised by the story. As for the characters, perhaps it was the graphic format, but I couldn’t connect with any of them, except the Dodger. The bond between the characters developed too quickly. There is a bit of a romance subplot, and I couldn’t enjoy it because of the instant love.

Overall, I’d rate it at 2 out of 4 stars. I enjoyed reading this story but wasn’t blown away by it.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

