BookTube-A-Thon 2017 TBR

As you can probably tell from the title of this post, I decided to take part in BookTube-a-Thon this year. My days didn’t feel busy enough with just Camp NaNo and having an internship, so why not add more?

BookTube-a-Thon is a week-long readathon that takes place from the 24th to the 30th of July. Ariel Bisset, a BookTuber on YouTube, hosts it every year. There are reading challenges, video challenges, photo challenges and twitter sprints. Check out this video for more information if you are interested in participating too. It’ll be fun to read alongside millions from across the world and share the experience.

So down below, I’ve listed the reading challenges and the books that I hope to read during the event:

Read a book with a person on the cover.

29283884

That’s a handsome face, right? Gentleman’s Guide to Vice and Virtue by Mackenzi Lee is a story of a young ‘gentleman’ on a grand tour of England. It is his last chance to have some fun before joining his father’s business. He also has a serious crush on his traveling companion. I heard that it’s best to read this book without knowing too much, so that’s all I know, but from the reviews, it sounds like an amazing story. Can’t wait to read it.

Read a hyped book.

51sx51bgrkl-_sx345_bo1204203200_

Eliza and her Monsters‘ by Francesca Zappia is another book that I don’t know much about, but so many people I follow on Booktube have been raving about it. Guessing it’s got something to do with a girl named Eliza who is an artist. I can’t wait to find out more about what the fuss is all about.

Read a book in a day.

23301545

Look at that gorgeous cover! The Sleeper and the Spindle by Neil Gaiman is a combination of Snow White and Sleeping Beauty with some dark magic. I love Gaiman’s writing. It is so calming, but still very evocative. Also, it’s a short novella, so I’m sure I can finish it in a day. It’ll help keep me sane this week.

Read a character who is different from you.

10015384-_sy540_

Again, I’m going into this story completely blind. (Let’s just assume that’s the theme for this readathon.) Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda got a lot of hype a couple of years back. For some reason, I never picked it up back then. However, Becky Albertalli published another novel recently called The Upside of Unrequited, that I badly want to read. Just thought, I’d use the readathon as a good excuse to catch up on the former before I jump into the latter.

Read a book because of the cover.

IMG_20170625_163605

For this challenge, I chose Strange the Dreamer by Laini Taylor even though it is technically a re-read. But, it’s so brilliantly written that I want to read it once more. It might be my favorite book of 2017. Also, that’s a freaking gorgeous cover. It’s the only book I’ve bought just for its cover. I’m usually content with e-books because I have limited shelf space. So, this is also one of those rare books where I feel compelled to buy the physical copy. That sounds a little wrong, but you know what I mean.

Read a book completely outside

Read seven books.

I’m going to randomly pick up a book for these two challenges, firstly because I can’t think of a book that I’ll be able to read completely outside. Also, I want to be able to switch to a new book if I’m bored with any of the above books. So, these two challenges are like my free passes. If you have any suggestions leave them in the comments below, and I’ll check those out.

That’s my plans for the next week, what are yours? Are you taking part in BookTube-a-thon? If so, what do you plan to read?

 

Leave a Reply

